Metal Storm logo
Necromantia - To The Depths We Descend... review



Reviewer:
N/A

46 users:
8.24
Band: Necromantia
Album: To The Depths We Descend...
Release date: October 2021


01. Daemonocentric
02. And The Shadows Wept
03. Give The Devil His Due
04. Inferno
05. Eldritch
06. To The Depths We Descend
07. Lord Of The Abyss MMXXI
08. The Warlock MMXXI


To The Depths We Descend… is Necromantia’s farewell album and a tribute to founding member and bassist Baron Blood, who passed away in November 2019.

I have mentioned Necromantia on many occasions in this website and I consider them to be one of the most innovative black metal outfits of the ‘90s, simply because they did things back then that no one else was doing, including the use of two basses. This is the first time Necromantia use rhythm guitars again since their promo tape back in 1990 because, according to The Magus, “the use of the 8-string bass belongs to Baron Blood and it will remain with him”.

To The Depths We Descend… was supposed to be an EP but ended up being released as a full-length featuring six new songs and two re-recorded ones. The final two tracks are interesting to listen to after so many years, being obviously ‘beefed up’ due to the presence of guitars and a modern production. However, I have to say that what really impressed me was how the six new ones proudly bear the name and the ethos of Necromantia in 2021, without feeling dated. This is black metal the Greek way, not how the others play it, but injected with thrash, doom, and heavy metal. The sound and production are fresh but the atmosphere of mesmerizing mysticism, the layers of bewitching synths, and the primeval songwriting style of ageless black magic worship hearkens back to the days of the Storm Studios (the place where every black metal band in Greece recorded in the early years).

From the raging and more contemporary-sounding “Daemonocentric” to the esoteric title track that finishes the album, as far as the new songs are concerned, this is purely Necromantia. If you find the saxophone of the title track to be unbelonging or hipsterish, well, it’s not; the band used instruments like this long before it was cool and both Crossing The Fiery Path and Scarlet Evil Witching Black provided the blueprint for the sound of many symphonic black metal bands that are hugely popular today. Anyway, short rant over, back to Necromantia: I was a bit sceptical in the beginning with the line-up because all three members were also part of Yoth Iria’s debut, so I was afraid that we would have two albums sounding the same, but this is not the case at all. The similarities are there, of course, but As The Flame Withers and To The Depths We Descend… are two different beasts; it can be heard that the former was made by Mutilator and the latter by The Magus. Every song on here is special in its own way, but my personal pick is “As The Shadows Wept”; it is a song for Baron Blood and it really stands out both as a composition, as well as due to the emotional weight it carries.

This release marks the end of Necromantia and what a way that is to say goodbye to the fans and to honour the memory of a friend and bandmate. Baron Blood would have approved of this, no doubt. He is definitely part of it in spirit form, anyway.

“He has now crossed the fiery path
A path of witching evil
And from the scarlet throne of Hades
He now moves the Cosmos”





Written on 23.10.2021 by Only way to feel the noise is when it's good and loud!


Comments

Comments: 8   Visited by: 86 users
24.10.2021 - 01:14
Netzach
Planewalker
Aw, this band is cult as fuck, I'm sad to see them go.
Loading...
24.10.2021 - 07:59
AndyMetalFreak
Mr Nice Guy
I always found Necromantia unique compared to other black metal bands, they were more experimental, it's a shame they will no longer be around, but there are plenty of promising Greek black metal bands emerging on the scene at the moment, so not all is lost.
Loading...
24.10.2021 - 12:35
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Somehow I knew you will review this album,
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
24.10.2021 - 12:46
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Bad English on 24.10.2021 at 12:35

Somehow I knew you will review this album,

You must have amazing intuition skills if you guessed that Nik would review a Greek black metal album.
----
Do you think if the heart keeps on shrinking
One day there will be no heart at all?


2021 goodies
Loading...
24.10.2021 - 16:13
ScreamingSteelUS
Editor-in-Chief
As I mentioned on your Rotting Christ article, I recently bought Crossing the Fiery Path and Scarlet Evil Witching Black. I think they're both excellent and I'm glad to have gotten in just before this came out; I'm still new enough that the lack of that incredible bass will be strange, but I fully respect the decision to leave the 8-string aside, and as you've outlined there is more to Necromantia than that, remarkable though it was. The other comments I've seen have likened this to Yoth Iria, which I also enjoyed, but I do look forward to the original twists - Necromantia even beat Sigh to the saxophone, which is no mean feat.

Although I wind up reading every front-page review since I have to promulgate them on the social media accounts and such, it's pretty rare that I wind up listening to the albums right when the review is published. This will be one of those rare exceptions, because I can't wait to hear it after reading your review.
----
"Earth is small and I hate it" - Lum Invader

I'm the Agent of Steel.
Loading...
25.10.2021 - 11:05
nikarg
Mod
Written by ScreamingSteelUS on 24.10.2021 at 16:13

Although I wind up reading every front-page review since I have to promulgate them on the social media accounts and such, it's pretty rare that I wind up listening to the albums right when the review is published. This will be one of those rare exceptions, because I can't wait to hear it after reading your review.

Well, Necromantia are not groundbreaking anymore (how could they be?), but this album is a damn fine one. I am sure you will like it to some extent.
Loading...
25.10.2021 - 11:08
nikarg
Mod
Written by Netzach on 24.10.2021 at 01:14

Aw, this band is cult as fuck, I'm sad to see them go.

Written by AndyMetalFreak on 24.10.2021 at 07:59

I always found Necromantia unique compared to other black metal bands, they were more experimental, it's a shame they will no longer be around, but there are plenty of promising Greek black metal bands emerging on the scene at the moment, so not all is lost.

I am also not happy that they won't be around anymore, but it was the right decision for me. The Magus will still be active with Yoth Iria, and that's very good news.
Loading...
26.10.2021 - 03:19
Dream Taster
The Enemy Within
That's one impressive album given the circumstances of Baron Blood's passing. I was definitely impressed by it.
Loading...

Hits total: 1051 | This month: 22